Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using

Chernobyl Shelter Fund

The Chernobyl Shelter Fund (CSF) was set up by the EBRD in 1997 to assist Ukraine in making the site of the current shelter over Chernobyl's destroyed reactor 4 stable and environmentally safe.

To achieve these goals, the Chernobyl Shelter Fund financed the implementation of the so-called Shelter Implementation Plan (SIP) which also created the conditions for the eventual dismantling and decommissioning of the contaminated structure under a national long-term strategy.

The initiative for the establishment of the CSF was led by the G7 governments, the European Commission and Ukraine and was announced at the 1997 G7 summit in Denver.

More governments declared their support at subsequent pledging conferences in New York (1997), Berlin (2000), London (2005), Kiev (April 2011) and London (2015).

The main objective of the SIP was to transform the post –accident “Object Shelter” into a stable and environmentally safe state.

The New Safe Confinement was the essential element of the SIP to enclose the destroyed reactor and the old shelter, and to create the conditions for the eventual dismantling and decommissioning of the contaminated structure. The CSF is now closed.

The following contributors were members of the CSF:
AustriaBelgiumCanadaChinathe Czech RepublicDenmarkthe European CommunityFinlandFranceGermanyGreeceIrelandItalyJapanKazakhstan, Kuwait, Luxembourgthe NetherlandsNorwayPolandRussiaSpain, Saudi Arabia, SwedenSwitzerlandUkrainethe United Kingdom, and the United States.

The following countries have made donations:

Argentina, AustraliaAzerbaijanCroatiaEstoniaHungaryIceland, India, IsraelKoreaLiechtensteinLithuaniaPortugalRomania, the Slovak RepublicSlovenia and Turkey.

Overall, the fund received more than € 1.6 billion from 45 donors.

The EBRD provided €480 million of its own resources to support the implementation of the New Safe Confinement contract at Chornobyl.