2020 election of the EBRD President

Share this page:
EBRD logo at EBRD HQ in London

The EBRD's Board of Governors will elect a new President to succeed Sir Suma Chakrabarti during the EBRD’s 29th Annual Meeting and Business Forum in London in May 2020.

The Governors represent the EBRD’s 71 shareholders.

The result of the election will be decided by secret ballot.

The winning candidate has to receive the votes of at least 36 shareholders (a simple majority of the total) as well as 50 percent + 1 of shareholders’ weighted votes. 

Sir Suma was first elected as President in 2012. He was elected for a second term in 2016.

The sixth President of the EBRD since the Bank’s founding in 1991, he was the first British national to be elected to the position.  

The previous Presidents were:

July 2008 – July 2012: Thomas Mirow

July 2000 - July 2008: Jean Lemierre

Sep 1998 - Apr 2000: Horst Köhler

Sep 1993 - Jan 1998: Jacques de Larosière

Apr 1991 - Jun 1993: Jacques Attali

2016 election of the EBRD President

2012 Election of the EBRD President

Share this page: