Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using

EBRD Literature Prize 2023 Awards Ceremony

  • 15 Jun 2023
  • EBRD HQ, London
  • EBRD

Join the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development’s for the final of the EBRD Literature Prize 2023 on Thursday 15 June at 16.30 (London time) in the Auditorium at Five Bank Street, London E14 4BG.

The winner of the EBRD Literature Prize 2023 and two runners-up will be revealed at an awards ceremony and reception at the Bank’s headquarters, attended by President Odile Renaud-Basso who will present the prizes. The three finalists, chosen by the independent judging panel, comprised of Toby Lichtig (chair), Maya Jaggi, Arkady Ostrovsky and Natasha Randall, are:

  • Mister N by Najwa Barakat, translated from Arabic by Luke Leafgren and published by And Other Stories
  • The Lake by Bianca Bellová, translated from Czech by Alex Zucker and published by Parthian Books
  • The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk, translated from Polish by Jennifer Croft and published by Fitzcarraldo Editions.

On the evening, we will hear from the authors and translators themselves, either in person or remotely.

The EBRD Literature Prize celebrates the cultural diversity and abundance of literary expression in countries from central and eastern Europe to Central Asia, the Western Balkans and the southern and eastern Mediterranean. It also celebrates the important role that translators play in bridging different cultures.

Register to attend


The event will start at 16.30. Please arrive 15 minutes before the start time to clear security. Photo ID is required.


European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Five Bank Street
E14 4BG
United Kingdom

Upcoming events

GDPR Cookie Status