EBRD Literature Prize 2023 open for submissions

By EBRD  Press Office

Share this page:

  • Bank launches the EBRD Literature Prize 2023
  • Competition celebrates translated literature from the regions where the EBRD operates
  • Winning writer and translator to be revealed in spring 2023

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) has launched the EBRD Literature Prize 2023.

The EBRD Literature Prize 2023 will be awarded to both the writer and the translator of the best work of literary fiction written in any language of the EBRD regions, translated into English, and published for the first time by a European (including UK) publisher in the eligible period.

The Prize has gained ever more visibility and recognition in recent years.

The independent judging panel of the EBRD Literature Prize 2023 will be chaired by Toby Lichtig, Fiction and Politics Editor of the Times Literary Supplement, in his third and last term chairing the competition. Mr Lichtig is also a freelance editor and writer for a range of publications, including the Wall Street Journal and The Guardian. He is a former Chair of Judges of the 2018 JQ-Wingate Prize and a jury member of the 2019 EU Prize for Literature.

Other judges on the panel for the EBRD Literature Prize 2023 include:

  • Maya Jaggi, an award-winning writer, critic and artistic director in London. Her cultural writing has appeared widely, from the Guardian Review (where she was a profile writer for a decade) and FT Weekend to New York Review of Books
  • Arkady Ostrovsky, The Economist’s Russia and eastern Europe editor. He was previously Moscow Bureau Chief for The Economist and spent a decade with the Financial Times covering Russia. He wrote the 2016 Orwell Prize-winning book The Invention of Russia: The Journey from Gorbachev’s Freedom to Putin’s War.
  • Natasha Randall, writer, literary translator and contributing editor to literary magazine A Public Space. Her award-winning translations include books by  Dostoyevsky, Lermontov, Gogol and Zamyatin. Her articles and reviews have appeared in the Times Literary Supplement, The Moscow Times, The New York Times and others. Her debut novel, Love Orange, was published by riverrun (Quercus) in September 2020. 

Since its inauguration in 2017, the EBRD Literature Prize has introduced English-language readers to a wide range of literature from countries as diverse as Albania, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Georgia, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Morocco, Poland, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.


Submissions for the EBRD Literature Prize 2023 may only be made for books translated into English for the first time between 15 November 2021 and 14 November 2022, by European (including UK) publishers with an ISBN and the price printed in the currency of a European country.

The works must consist of literary fiction (including collections of short stories by a single author), translated into English and written originally in any language, be it official or minority, of a country in which the EBRD operates, by an author who is (or has been) a citizen of a country in which the Bank operates.

The submission deadline for publishers is 30 November 2022.

The shortlist will be announced in March 2023. This will be followed by an announcement of the three finalists in April 2023. An awards ceremony will be held at EBRD Headquarters in London.

The first prize, worth €20,000, will be equally divided between the winning author and translator. The two runner-up books will each receive a prize of €4,000, also equally split between author and translator.

Share this page: