Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using

2016 election of the EBRD President

Sir Suma Chakrabarti, EBRD President speaking to the media at 2016 EBRD Annual Meeting

Sir Suma Chakrabarti, EBRD President, speaking to the media at the EBRD 2016 Annual Meeting

The EBRD's Board of Governors elected Sir Suma Chakrabarti to serve as the Bank's President for another four years on 11 May 2016, during the EBRD’s 25th Annual Meeting in London.

The Governors represented the EBRD’s then 67 shareholders.

There were two candidates for the position:

The outcome of the election was decided by secret ballot.

To be elected, a candidate for President had to receive the votes of a majority of Governors, who should represent not less than a majority of the total voting power of members. A double majority was therefore required:

(i) a majority of the votes of the Governors for each member of the Bank (with 67 members this would mean the support of at least 34 Governors); and

(ii) a majority in terms of the total voting power of members (members have different levels of shareholding, based on their numbers of subscribed shares in the Bank, which determines each member’s voting power).

Before the election, both candidates gave interviews to the Center for Global Development in Washington. They were both asked the same questions and given time to set out their positions in a podcast.

Please see below the mission statements of the two candidates in the EBRD’s four official languages.

Statement by Sir Suma Chakrabarti (English | French | German | Russian)

Statement by Marek Belka (English | French | German | Russian)

Sir Suma Chakrabarti CV (English | French | German | Russian)

Marek Belka CV (English | French | German | Russian)

The previous Presidents were:

July 2008 – July 2012: Thomas Mirow

July 2000 - July 2008: Jean Lemierre

Sep 1998 - Apr 2000: Horst Köhler

Sep 1993 - Jan 1998: Jacques de Larosière

Apr 1991 - Jun 1993: Jacques Attali

2020 election of the EBRD President 

2012 election of the EBRD President

GDPR Cookie Status