Chernobyl Shelter Fund

The Chernobyl Shelter Fund (CSF) was set up at the EBRD in 1997 to assist Ukraine in making the site of the temporary shelter over Chernobyl's destroyed reactor 4 stable and environmentally safe.

The New Safe Confinement (NSC) also aims to create the conditions for the eventual dismantling and decommissioning of the contaminated structure.

To achieve these goals, the Chernobyl Shelter Fund finances the implementation of the so-called Shelter Implementation Plan which also creates the conditions for the eventual dismantling and decommissioning of the contaminated structure under a national long-term strategy.

The initiative for the establishment of the CSF was led by the G7 governments, the European Commission and Ukraine and was announced at the 1997 G7 summit in Denver.

More governments declared their support at subsequent pledging conferences in New York (1997), Berlin (2000), London (2005), Kiev (April 2011) and London (2015).

The following contributors are members of the CSF:
Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, the European Community, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russia, Spain, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The following countries have made donations: Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Croatia, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, India, IsraelKorea, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Portugal, Romania, the Slovak Republic , Slovenia and Turkey.

The fund has received more than € 1.6 billion from 45 donors to date.

The EBRD is providing €480 million of its own resources to support the New Safe Confinement and the Shelter Implementation Plan at Chernobyl.