EBRD Board Directors visit Armenia

By Christopher  Booth

Share this page:

A delegation from the EBRD’s Board of Directors, which represents the Bank’s shareholders, will visit Armenia from October 17-21.

The visit is part of a regular series of consultations that enable EBRD Board Directors to obtain current information on developments in the countries where the Bank is active.

Representatives of the EBRD Board on this visit include:

  • Jerome Baconin, France
  • Kurt Bayer, Austria/Israel/Cyprus/Malta/Kazakhstan/Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Ole Blondal, Denmark/Ireland/Lithuania
  • Gianluca Grandi, Italy
  • Ole Hovland, Norway/Finland/Latvia
  • Herbert Junk, Germany
  • Jan Maas, Netherlands/Mongolia/FYR Macedonia
  • Pedro Moriyon, Spain/Mexico

During the visit, the EBRD Board Directors will meet Serzh Sargsyan, President of the Republic of Armenia; Tigran Sargsyan, Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia; Tigran Davtyan, Minister of the Economy of the Republic of Armenia; Arthur Javadyan, Chairman of the Central Bank of Armenia and other senior government officials.

The EBRD delegation will also hold meetings with members of the business and diplomatic communities, opposition political parties, civil society organisations and representatives of international financial institutions in the country.

The Directors will visit the capital, Yerevan, as well as the cities of Abovyan and Sevan.

The purpose of the consultation visit is to enable the Directors to better understand the priorities for the local economy and the expected role of the EBRD in Armenia in the context of the forthcoming new country strategy for 2012-15.

The EBRD began operations in Armenia in 1992. To date, it has invested in more than 100 projects and has provided finance totalling more than €450 million.

Share this page: