Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using
The Southern and Eastern Mediterranean region

About the SEMED region

The southern and eastern Mediterranean, known within the EBRD as SEMED, is the latest region in which we are working to boost economic growth and develop open and sustainable market economies.

The EBRD has been investing in Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia since September 2012.

The Bank rolled out its first investments in Lebanon in 2018 as well as in the West Bank and Gaza where the EBRD has also started working.

In their different ways, Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia emerged from the Arab uprising of 2011 with different political systems and a new determination to reform their economies.

The four countries, the European Council and the G8 all called on the EBRD in 2011 to extend its mandate to include the SEMED region and apply to it the lessons learned during the transition in central, south-eastern and eastern Europe, Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia.

Egypt and Morocco originally joined the EBRD as shareholders in 1991. Jordan and Tunisia became members at the end of 2011.

Lebanon joined the EBRD as a shareholder in July 2017.

The EBRD is building greener and more inclusive economies in the SEMED region.

More videos