Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using

Documentary film screening ‘Those Who Dare’ and panel discussion

  • 17 Oct 2017
  • London, UK

Lithuanians huddle around a fire in Vilnius in early 1991

Documentary film recounting Baltic nations’ path to independence.

A 2015 joint production – Iceland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania – directed by Ólafur Rögnvaldsson

Join the ambassadors of Estonia and Iceland, Ms Tiina Intelmann and Mr Thórdur Aegir Óskarsson, for the UK premiere screening of “Those Who Dare”, a remarkable 52-minute documentary film that traces the Baltic nations’ path to independence from the USSR.

From 1989-1991, claims for independence made by Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania were ignored by the international community, including the United States. It was up to Iceland and its intrepid Minister of Foreign Affairs, Jón Baldvin Hannibalsson, to advocate a “new security order” and to first recognise these countries’ declarations of independence. The film recounts this dramatic tale, using real footage of events as they unfolded over those two years, as well as interviews with the major political figures of the time. 

The screening will be followed by a conversation with the screenwriter, Ms Kolfinna Baldvinsdóttir, as well as with our special guest, Mr Jón Baldvin Hannibalsson, the former Icelandic foreign minister whose involvement in challenging the legacy of WWII helped to make Baltic independence a reality. They will be joined by Mr Tunne Kelam, Member of the European Parliament and one of the leading figures in Estonia’s quest to restore independence.  The discussion will be chaired by Dr. Kristina Spohr, Associate Professor in International History, London School of Economics.

Doors will open for registration at 5.15pm and coffee and tea will be served. The screening will begin promptly at 6pm, followed by a discussion and Q&A session, and drinks reception.  

This event was made possible by the Embassy of Estonia in cooperation with the Embassy of Iceland. It marks the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the EU.

There will also be a photo exhibition entitled “Timeless Tallinn” by Estonian photographer Arne Maasik which will stay at the Bank until 26 October.  

Admission to this event is free and EBRD staff members need not register. External guests will have to register online by midday Tuesday 17 October 2017.