Confirm cookie choices
Cookies are pieces of code used to track website usage and give audiences the best possible experience.
Use the buttons to confirm whether you agree with default cookie settings when using

3rd Symposium on “Environmental Economics and the Green Transition”

  • 13 - 14 Jun 2019
  • EBRD
  • EBRD, CEPR, LSE, Economics of Transition
EBRD and global cities group scale up green urban financing

The 3rd CEPR/EBRD/Economics of Transition/LSE Symposium on environmental economics and the green transition in advanced and emerging markets is taking place on 13-14 June at the EBRD headquarters.

The symposium will provide a platform for researchers and policy makers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed, such as in:

  •  The impact of environmental quality on individual productivity, employment, and well-being
  •  The impact of climate change on emerging markets
  •  The role of governments and firms in fighting climate change
  •  Firm-level energy efficiency and how to improve it
  •  Climate change and economic (in)equality across and within countries
  •  Greening the financial system
  •  Corporate environmental responsibility
  •  Climate change and agricultural productivity
  •  Stranded assets for energy and carbon intensive industries
  •  Agency and governance problems that distort corporate climate risk management
  •  Environmental policies and macroeconomic dynamics
  •  Behavioural foundations of environmentally (un-)friendly consumer actions
  •  The environment and network effects

The symposium features keynote talks by Catherine Wolfram (University of California, Berkeley and NBER) and Arik Levinson (Georgetown University).

The event is sponsored by:


Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD, London School of Economics and IZA)

Ralph De Haas (EBRD and Tilburg University)

Tatyana Deryugina (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and NBER)

Olivier Deschenes (University of California - Santa Barbara, IZA and NBER)

Eugenie Dugoua (London School of Economics)

Guido Friebel (Goethe University and CEPR)

Sergei Guriev (EBRD, Sciences Po and CEPR)

Vernon Henderson (London School of Economics)

Erin Mansur (Dartmouth and NBER)

Ralf Martin (Imperial College London)

Susana Mourato (London School of Economics)

Sefi Roth (London School of Economics and IZA)


Registration is now closed.

EBRD Headquarters

Broadgate City of London,

1 Exchange Square,

London EC2A 2JN


Upcoming events

GDPR Cookie Status