Addressing Staff Grievances

Generally

The Grievance Procedures and the Appeals Procedures establish a graduated and defined three-tier appeal mechanism under which a staff member can seek redress of any administrative decision that adversely affects him or her.

Recourse through Normal Administrative Channels represents the first level of dispute resolution for a dissatisfied staff member. In the event that a grievance remains unresolved following this process, the staff member and the Bank are required to consider and, if appropriate, exhaust, mediation as a preliminary step to an Administrative Review of the decision. This review is done by the President acting on the recommendation of the Grievance Committee. If still dissatisfied with the outcome of the administrative review, the staff member can appeal the administrative decision to the Administrative Tribunal. As a general rule, the staff member is required to exhaust the procedures applicable to each tier of review as a pre-condition to moving to the next level.

Grievance Committee

The Grievance Committee is comprised of a Chair and two Assessors. The President of the Bank appoints the Chair of the Grievance Committee, who must be an experienced lawyer from outside of the Bank. The two Assessors will be staff members selected by the Chair of the Grievance Committee on a case by case basis from a pre-determined panel of eight. The panel of eight Assessors is comprised of four staff members drawn from the ranks of the support staff and four from the professional category. Two of the support staff and an equal number of the professional staff are appointed by the President of the Bank, and the remaining four are elected by the staff.

The chair of the Grievance Committee is Professor Roy Lewis (British).

Administrative Tribunal

The Administrative Tribunal is comprised of three judges drawn from a panel of five. The judges, who are appointed by the Board of Directors on the recommendation of the President after consultation with the Staff Council, must all be highly experienced lawyers from outside of the Bank. The role of the Administrative Tribunal is to decide, on the relative merits of the case, whether or not to uphold the staff member's appeal.

The judges of the Administrative Tribunal are:

- * Ms Giuditta Cordero Moss (Italian)
- * Mr Boris Karabelnikov (Russian)
- * Mr Jan Paulsson (Swedish), President of the Administrative

Tribunal

- * Ms Elizabeth Slade (British)
- * Mr Stanislaw Soltysinski (Polish).