EBRD Literature Prize


The EBRD will work in partnership with the British Council in organising the competition and award ceremony at the Bank in the spring of 2018.

A Judging Panel has been selected and will announce a shortlist of five books in early 2018 before publicising the names of the three finalists. All three finalists and their translators will be invited to London to participate in an awards ceremony and discussion at the EBRD Headquarters in April 2018 and an event at The London Book Fair.

Four judges have been selected:

  • Rosie Goldsmith (Chair of the Judging Panel): is an award-winning journalist specializing in arts and foreign affairs. In twenty years at the BBC, she travelled the world and presented several flagship programmes. Rosie is a linguist and has lived in Europe, Africa and the USA. Today she combines journalism with chairing and curating literary events and festivals for leading cultural organisations.  Known as a champion of international literature, translation and language learning, she promotes them whenever she can. She is Founder and Director of the European Literature Network

  • Peter Frankopan: Professor of Global History at Oxford University. His most recent book is The Silk Roads: A New History of the World.

  • Gabriel Gbadamosi is a poet, playwright, essayist and broadcaster. He was AHRC Creative and Performing Arts Fellow at the Pinter Centre, Goldsmiths, a Judith E. Wilson Fellow for Creative Writing at Cambridge University and Royal Literary Fund Fellow. His London novel Vauxhall (2013) won the Tibor Jones Pageturner Prize.

  • Lucy Hannah: is a writer, producer and digital content creator. She works with writers and dramatists in countries such as, Afghanistan, Yemen, Sudan and Russia.
    In 2011, she founded and established Commonwealth Writers, which works across art forms to bring transformative stories to global audiences.