Acknowledgements

The *Transition Report* was prepared by the Office of the Chief Economist (OCE) of the EBRD, under the general direction of Hans Peter Lankes. It also includes a contribution from the Office of the General Counsel (Annex 2.1) and the Country and Sector Economics department (structural reform overview and online country assessments).

This year's editors were Ralph de Haas and Alexander Plekhanov. Online country assessments were edited by Peter Sanfey. Francesca Dalla Pozza provided research assistance.

The writing teams for the chapters, boxes and annexes comprised:

Chapter 1

Maria Balgova, Michel Nies and Alexander Plekhanov. Box 1.1 was prepared by Alex Chirmiciu. Box 1.2 was prepared by Alexander Lehmann. Box 1.3 was prepared by Alexander Lehmann.

Chapter 2

Ralph de Haas, Teodora Tsankova and Neeltje van Horen.
Box 2.1 was prepared by Aziza Zakhidova.
Box 2.2 was prepared by Neeltje van Horen.
Box 2.3 was prepared by Ralph de Haas.
Box 2.4 was prepared by Sibel Beadle.
Annex 2.1 was prepared by Ivor Istuk.

Chapter 3

Markus Biesinger and Çağatay Bircan with contributions from Zana Beqiri and Orkun Saka.

Box 3.1 was prepared by Ralph de Haas and Thomas Kirchmaier. Box 3.2 was prepared by Levent Tuzun.

Box 3.3 was prepared by Markus Biesinger.

Chapter 4

Markus Biesinger and Çağatay Bircan with contributions from Zana Beqiri, Gian Piero Cigna and Orkun Saka. Box 4.1 was prepared by Larissa Schäfer. Box 4.2 was prepared by Hannes Takacs.

Macroeconomic overview

Michel Nies and Alexander Plekhanov.

Structural reform

Isabel Blanco, Kristine Grün, Svenja Petersen, Barbara Rambousek and Peter Sanfey, with support from Yuni Kim and contributions from sector and regional economists and analysts.

Online country assessments

The online country assessments at **tr-ebrd.com** were prepared by the regional economists and analysts of the Country and Sector Economics department and edited by Peter Sanfey. The main authors were:

- Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Moldova and Ukraine: Dimitri Gvindadze, Mykola Miagkyi and Konstantine Kintsurashvili.
- Bulgaria, Romania, Slovenia and Turkey: Bojan Markovic and Idil Bilgic Alpaslan.
- Central Asia and Georgia: Agris Preimanis and Nino Shanshiashvili.
- Croatia, Russia and Serbia: Peter Tabak and Emir Zildzovic.
- Hungary, Poland, the Slovak Republic and the Baltic states: Alexander Lehmann and Marcin Tomaszewski.
- Mongolia: Agris Preimanis, Alexander Plekhanov and Nino Shanshiashvili.
- Southern and eastern Mediterranean: Hanan Morsy and Rand Fakhoury.
- Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia, Kosovo and Montenegro), Cyprus and Greece: Peter Sanfey and Jakov Milatovic.

Editorial, multimedia and production guidance for the *Transition Report* was provided by Chris Booth, Dermot Doorly, Hannah Fenn, Dan Kelly, Kasia Kukula, Philippa Moore, Jane Ross, Natasha Treloar, Bryan Whitford and Anthony Williams in the EBRD Communications Department, and by Matthew Hart and Fran Lawrence. The report was designed and print-managed by Blackwood Creative Ltd.

The editors are indebted to Sergei Guriev and Alexander Ljungqvist for comments and discussions. The report benefited from comments and feedback from the EBRD Board of Directors and their authorities, the EBRD Executive Committee, the EBRD's Resident Offices and country teams, and staff from the European Commission, International Monetary Fund and the World Bank.

Some of the material in this Report is based on the fifth round of the EBRD/World Bank Business Environment and Enterprise Performance Survey (BEEPS V) which was funded by the World Bank and the EBRD Shareholder Special Fund and the second round of the Banking Environment and Performance Survey (BEPS II) which was funded by the EBRD Shareholder Special Fund. BEEPS V in Russia conducted in 2011-12 was co-funded by Vnesheconombank. This funding is gratefully acknowledged.