The Southern and Eastern Mediterranean region

About the SEMED region

The southern and eastern Mediterranean, known within the EBRD as SEMED, is the latest region in which we are working to boost economic growth and develop open and sustainable market economies.

The EBRD has been investing in Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia since September 2012.

All four nations, in their different ways, emerged from the Arab uprising of 2011 with different political systems and a new determination to reform their economies.

The four countries, the European Council and the G8 all called on the EBRD in 2011 to extend its mandate to include the SEMED region and apply to it the lessons learned during the transition in central, south-eastern and eastern Europe, Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia.

Egypt and Morocco originally joined the EBRD as shareholders in 1991. Jordan and Tunisia became members at the end of 2011.

Lebanon joined the EBRD as a shareholder in July 2017 with a view to becoming a country of operations in the near future.

WATCH: Tunisia Olives

The EBRD and the FAO have joined forces to help grow Tunisia's olive sector.

More videos